Restricted Burning Periods and Permits

Restricted Burning Times

Restricted burning periods are normally 19th September to 31st October and 1st March to 1st April. Permits are required to light a fire during the Restricted Burning Time. All permit holders are required to comply with the requirements of the Bush Fire Act 1954. Any additional special conditions imposed on the permit holder must also be complied with.
Seasonal conditions may result in variation to these dates (see above). Any changes will be advertised in local newspapers and updated on this website.

Burning under a permit is now permissible in Fire Weather Zones - South West and North West (West of Brand Highway) over the Easter Holiday Period.

Prohibited Burning Times

Under the Bush Fires Act 1954, it is generally an offence to light fires during the Prohibited Burning period. Penalties of up to $10,000 fine, 12 months’ imprisonment, or both may apply. Prohibited Burning times are as follows; 1st November to 28th February. 

Permits to Burn

If you want to light a fire during the restricted burning period you must obtain a permit to burn from a fire control officer. See the emergency contacts page on this website for fire control officer contact details for your area.

Total Fire Bans and Harvest / Vehicle Movement Bans

Total Fire Bans

A Total Fire Ban (TFB) may be declared by the Department of Fire and Emergency Services (DFES) on days when fires are most likely to threaten lives and property. This is because of predicted adverse fire weather or when widespread fires are impacting the availability of resources.

During a TFB, the lighting of any fire in the open air is prohibited. This includes all open cooking and camping fires and incinerators. It also includes ‘hot work’ such as welding, grinding and soldering or gas cutting. The penalty is a fine of $25,000 or imprisonment for 12 months, or both.

TFBs are announced on the DFES website, on ABC Radio and the DFES Twitter feed. Exemptions may be available. You can find out more about TFBs by visiting the DFES website.

Harvest and Vehicle Movement Bans

The Shire of Dandaragan and the Chief Bushfire Control Officer may impose Harvest and/or Vehicle Movement Bans when adverse fire weather conditions are experienced. Consultation with fire weather officers will occur to determine if a ban is warranted.

The Shire has four weather zones:

  • Northwest Zone
  • Southwest Zone
  • Northeast Zone
  • Southeast Zone

Weather Zones allow the implementation of a harvest ban in individual or multiple zones depending on the weather conditions in each zone.  A fire weather map (PDF) clearly showing the zones and their boundaries is available by clicking on the link below.

Fire Weather Zone Map (PDF)

During harvest bans all harvesting operations must immediately cease. No harvesting is permitted on Christmas Day, Boxing Day or New Years Day in the Shire of Dandaragan.

A vehicle movement ban means no internal combustion powered vehicles are to be driven in paddocks or bush areas and ‘hot work’ such as welding or grinding is not to be undertaken in the open air.

Communication of total fire bans and harvest and vehicle movement bans

The Shire of Dandaragan will endeaver to communicate broadly when a total fire ban is imposed by DFES. However, it is the responsibility of landowners and occupiers to check if a ban is in place before engaging in any activity that may be prohibited.  If you would like to receive an SMS notification to your mobile phone of Shire imposed harvest and total vehicle movement bans then please complete the Harvest and Vehicle Movement Ban Notification Form and return.

Prescribed Burns 

The Shire of Dandaragan carries out a program of prescribed burns on its Reserves during the autumn and springs months. Burns are subject to volunteer availability and weather conditions.

Fire Break and Fuel Hazard Notice

For more detailed information on fire break requirements, harvesting operations and building protection zones please refer to the Fire Break & Fuel Hazard Reduction Notice 2021/22.

Alternative Alignments & Variations to Firebreak & Fuel Hazard Notices

If it is impractical to have a firebreak immediately inside a boundary, for environmental or any other reason(s), you are required to apply to the Shire of Dandaragan in writing, before 1st October to obtain permission for firebreaks to be installed in an alternative position or for alternative measures to be put in place. Approval is granted for a period of 3 years, after which the landowner must re-apply for a variation to the firebreak notice. Firebreak Variation Application