Shire to get three new Mobile Phone Towers in Mobile Black Spot Program funding

Published on Tuesday, 21 April 2020 at 4:16:00 PM

The Federal government has announced the location of 182 new mobile phone towers across regional Australia, including three in the Shire of Dandaragan.

The three new macrocell towers in Badgingarra East, Hill River South and Yathroo, will be funded under round 5 of the Commonwealth's Mobile Black Spot Program.

The Shire has been an ongoing advocate for improved telecommunications, with improvements to mobile blackspots being a four-year priority in our Corporate Business Plan (2019).

Communications Minister Paul Fletcher said "These activities are critical year-round, but particularly important with people responding to the COVID-19 crisis and spending more time at home".

The three towers are scheduled to roll out in the coming months, with the first new base stations expected to be activated by the end of the year.

Regional Communications Minister Mark Coulton said the program connected rural communities and businesses, allowing them to contribute more effectively to the national economy.

Photo credit - Elesa Kurtz at Farm Weekly

Back to All News