

# SHIRE of DANDARAGAN

**MINUTES** 

of the

**SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING** 

held at the

**COUNCIL CHAMBERS, JURIEN BAY** 

on

**THURSDAY 14 MARCH 2013** 

**COMMENCING AT 9.10AM** 

### MINUTES FOR SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING HELD THURSDAY 14 MARCH 2013

### 1 DECLARATION OF OPENING / ANNOUNCEMENT OF VISITORS

### 1.1 DECLARATION OF OPENING

The presiding member declared the meeting open at 9.10am and welcomed those present.

### 1.2 DISCLAIMER READING

The disclaimer was read aloud as there were members of the public present.

"No responsibility whatsoever is implied or accepted by the Shire of Dandaragan for any act, omission or statement or intimation occurring during this meeting.

It is strongly advised that persons do not act on what is heard at this meeting and should only rely on written confirmation of Council's decision, which will be provided within fourteen (14) days of this meeting."

# 2 RECORD OF ATTENDANCE / APOLOGIES / APPROVED LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Members Councillor L Short (Deputy President)

Councillor M Russell
Councillor D Kent
Councillor L Holmes
Councillor K McGlew
Councillor W Gibson
Councillor T Bailey
Councillor M Sheppard

Staff Mr T Nottle (Chief Executive Officer)

Mr I Rennie (Deputy Chief Executive Officer)
Mr S Clayton (Manager Finance and Administration)
Mr B Wall (Project Manager – Special Projects)
Mrs K Renton (Works Support Officer)
Mrs G Richardson (Secretary to Chief Executive Officer)

**Apologies** 

**Approved Leave of Absence** 

Observers Mr Clinton Strugnell

### 3 PUBLIC QUESTION TIME

Nil

### MINUTES FOR SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING HELD THURSDAY 14 MARCH 2013

### 4 PURPOSE OF THE MEETING

The purpose of the Special Meeting is to elect a new Shire President and if required a new Deputy Shire President, caused by the resignation of Councillor Love, following the State Elections held on 9 March 2013.

### 5 ORDER OF BUSINESS

### 5.1 ADMINISTRATION

### 5.1.1 ELECTION OF PRESIDENT OF THE SHIRE OF DANDARAGAN

The procedure for electing a Shire President is set out in Schedule 2.3, Division 1, of the Local Government Act 1995 (see attached – **Doc Id: 12250**). The process will be as follows:

- Nominations for the office are to be received in writing to the Chief Executive Officer before the meeting, or during the meeting before the close of nominations. Nominations close at the meeting at a time announced by the Chief Executive Officer.
- Councillors are to vote on the matter by secret ballot as if they were electors voting at an election. The votes cast are to be counted, and the successful candidate determined in accordance with Schedule 4.1 of the Local Government Act 1995 (see attached).
- If two or more candidates receive the same number of votes, so that no candidate has the greatest number of votes, the count is to be discontinued and the meeting is to be adjourned for not more than seven days.
- Should this occur, it is intended to initially adjourn the meeting for ten minutes, and then resume the meeting. Any nomination for the office may be withdrawn, and further nominations may be made, before or when the meeting resumes. When the meeting resumes the councillors are to vote again.
- The Chief Executive Officer is to declare and give notice of the result in accordance with regulation IIF of the Local Government (Constitution) Regulations 1998 (see attached).
- Following the announcement of the successful candidate a swearing in of the newly elected President will take place.

The Shire President then takes up the position of presiding member for the meeting.

The Chief Executive Officer advised that written nominations had been received from Councillors McGlew, Short and

Gibson and called for any further nominations. No further nominations were received and the Chief Executive Officer closed nominations.

The Chief Executive Officer prepared and distributed ballot papers to the eight Councillors present.

Each Councillor cast his vote and placed the ballot paper in the ballot box.

The Chief Executive Officer opened the ballot box and counted the votes and the results were:

- Cr Wayne Gibson 5 votes
- Cr Lawrie Short 2 votes
- Cr Kaye McGlew 1 vote

The Chief Executive Officer declared Cr Wayne Gibson elected to the position of President until the October 2013 Annual Election.

Cr Gibson then took an oath with Allegiance and made the Declaration in the prescribed form before Cr Tim Bailey, Justice of the Peace. The forms were duly signed.

Cr Gibson then occupied the Chair as President.

# 5.1.2 ELECTION OF DEPUTY PRESIDENT OF THE SHIRE OF DANDARAGAN

Please be advised that should the current Deputy Shire President, Cr. Lawrie Short, not be elected to the position of Shire President, he will remain the Deputy Shire President and there will be no need for an election for this position.

However should Cr. Short be nominated and elected as Shire President an election for Deputy President will occur as follows:

- The Chief Executive Officer will act as the Returning Officer for this election.
- Nominations for the office are to be received in writing to the Chief Executive Officer before the meeting, or during the meeting before the close of nominations. Nominations close at the meeting at a time announced by the Chief Executive Officer.
- The same process as outlined for the election of the Shire President in section 5.1.1 will take place.

As Cr Short was not elected to the position of President, he continues in the position of Deputy President until the annual elections in October 2013.

# MINUTES FOR SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING HELD THURSDAY 14 MARCH 2013

Cr Holmes left the meeting at 9.23am.

# **6 CLOSURE OF MEETING**

The presiding member declared the meeting closed at 9.27am.

These minutes were confirmed at a meeting on
Signed
Presiding person at the meeting at which the minutes were confirmed
Date