

SHIRE of DANDARAGAN

MINUTES

of the

SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING

held at the

COUNCIL CHAMBERS, JURIEN BAY

on

MONDAY 23 OCTOBER 2023

COMMENCING AT 5.00PM

MINUTES FOR SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING HELD MONDAY 23 OCTOBER 2023

1 DECLARATION OF OPENING / ANNOUNCEMENT OF VISITORS

1.1 DECLARATION OF OPENING

The Chief Executive Officer declared the meeting open at 5.05pm and welcomed those present.

"I would like to acknowledge the traditional owners of the land we are meeting on today, the Yued people of the great Nyungar Nation and we pay our respects to Elders both past, present and emerging."

1.2 DISCLAIMER READING

The disclaimer was read aloud as there 5 members of the public present.

"No responsibility whatsoever is implied or accepted by the Shire of Dandaragan for any act, omission or statement or intimation occurring during this meeting.

It is strongly advised that persons do not act on what is heard at this meeting and should only rely on written confirmation of Council's decision, which will be provided within fourteen (14) days of this meeting."

2 RECORD OF ATTENDANCE / APOLOGIES / APPROVED LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Members

Councillor J Clarke
Councillor W Gibson
Councillor R Glasfurd
Councillor M McDonald
Councillor T O'Gorman
Councillor R Shanhun
Councillor S Young

Staff

Mr B Bailey (Chief Executive Officer)
Mr B Pepper (Executive Manager Infrastructure)
Mr L Fouché (Executive Manager Development Services)
Mrs N Winsloe (Executive Secretary)
Ms Tricia Slee (Economic Development Manager)
Ms Rhiarn Sutton (Manager Customer & Community Services)

Apologies

Nil

Approved Leave of Absence

Nil

3 PUBLIC QUESTION TIME

Nil

4 ORDER OF BUSINESS

4.1 ELECTION AND DECLARATION OF PRESIDENT AND DEPUTY PRESIDENT

4.1.1 ELECTION OF PRESIDENT

The Chief Executive Officer advised that he had received one written nomination for Councillor O'Gorman. The Chief Executive Officer then called for nominations from the floor, none were forthcoming, and the Chief Executive Officer declared the nomination period closed. Being that there was only the one nomination for President which was accepted by Councillor O'Gorman, the Chief Executive Officer announced that Councillor O'Gorman had been elected unopposed to the office of President for a period of two (2) years.

4.1.2 SWEARING IN OF PRESIDENT

Councillor O'Gorman made the declaration in the prescribed form before the Chief Executive Officer. The forms were duly signed.

Councillor O'Gorman took the Chair and presided over the meeting at 5.08pm.

4.1.3 ELECTION OF DEPUTY PRESIDENT

The President advised that he had received two written nominations, one for Councillor McDonald and one for Councillor Glasfurd. The President then called for nominations from the floor, none were forthcoming therefore the President declared the nomination period closed.

An election was run by secret ballot and results were:

Councillor McDonald – 5 votes Councillor Glasfurd – 2 votes

The Chief Executive Officer announced that Councillor McDonald had been elected with a result of 5 votes to 2 and that she was elected to the office of Deputy President for a period of two (2) years.

MINUTES FOR SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING HELD MONDAY 23 OCTOBER 2023

4.1.4 SWEARING IN OF DEPUTY PRESIDENT

Councillor McDonald then made the declaration in the prescribed form before Cr Tony O'Gorman JP. The forms were duly signed.

As part of the Shire of Dandaragan's tradition, Councillor O'Gorman, the Presiding Member congratulated the Deputy President and new Councillors in recognition of their election to the Council. Councillor O'Gorman also thanked Peter Scharf, JP, for conducting the ceremonies.

5 CLOSURE OF MEETING

The presiding member declared the meeting closed at 5.16pm